Wonder Boy: Asha in Monster World launches April 22 in Japan [Update: Q2 2021 in the west]

New trailer also released.

Wonder Boy: Asha in Monster World

Wonder Boy: Asha in Monster World will launch for PlayStation 4 and Switch on April 22 in Japan, publisher G Choice and developer Studio Artdink announced.

The Switch version will be available at retail in standard and “Special Pack” editions for 3,980 yen and 5,980 yen, respectively. The Special Pack includes a collector’s box, two art books (one 80 pages, one 40 pages), and a copy of the game. The digital edition will be available on all platforms for 3,480 yen.

In the west, Wonder Boy: Asha in Monster World is planned for release in “early 2021” via publisher ININ Games, and will be available at retail on both PlayStation 4 and Switch.

Here is an overview of the game, via western publisher ININ Games:

The Original Development Team Behind the Wheel

The game is a fully remastered version of the famous Wonder Boy IV from 1994 with the development being led by the creator of the Wonder Boy series, Ryuichi Nishizawa. Nishizawa-san is supported by members of the original development team. Shinichi Sakamoto (sound), Maki Ōzora (character design) and Takanori Kurihara (creative management) are creating the next entry of the beloved series.

Dream Team with New Features

Asha is chosen to leave her village in order to rescue missing spirits and to save the world. Luckily, she has her blue flying friend Pepelogoo to help her on her adventures.

While the story stays true to the origins, there are many updates and features that will be included in the new Wonder Boy: Asha in Monster World:

  • For the first time ever: Character voices.
  • Remastered graphics with a fresh 2.5D design.
  • New dynamic and impressive cutscenes and animations.
  • Remastered game sounds and soundtrack by Shinichi Sakamoto.
  • Additional easy mode, so everyone alike can enjoy the game.

The developers listened closely to the fans to make sure that their feedback will be implemented in order to create a stunning fresh take on the Wonder Boy brand that will make gamers happy.

Original Monster World IV Included

The beloved original Monster World IV is included in all physical editions. Monster World IV is featured on the cartridge for Nintendo Switch and will be an exclusive download code that comes with the PlayStation 4 disc version of Asha in Monster World.

Watch a new trailer below.

Update 7:50 a.m.: Wonder Boy: Asha in Monster World will for PlayStation 4, Switch, and PC via Steam in Q2 2021 in the west, publisher ININ Games announced. Watch the English version of the new trailer below. View a new set of screenshots at the gallery.

Use the coupon code "GEMATSU" for 5% off.

comment policy

Comment Policy

Comments are welcome and encouraged on Gematsu. However, we ask that you follow a simple set of guidelines:

  • Read the full article before commenting.
  • Stay on topic.
  • No drive-by comments, including trolling, baiting, or shit-posting.
  • Know when not to comment. If you do not care about a topic, you do not need to comment.
  • No offensive comments. This includes abusive, threatening, pornographic, misleading, or libelous content / language, as well as general harassment and individual attacks.
  • No port-begging.
  • No console wars.
  • Use spoiler tags when posting spoiler or NSFW (non-nude-only) content. For example: <spoiler>Woe is Leomon.</spoiler> State the subject of the content outside of the spoiler tags.
  • Be respectful towards other commenters. You do not have to agree with each other, but debate politely. If you find that a commenter is not following this simple etiquette, do not carry on the conversation—simply report it.

Gematsu reserves the right to edit or delete any comments without notice. This comment policy is subject to change at any time.