Final Fantasy Explorers-Force first details, screenshots

Due out for iOS and Android devices in Japan in 2017.

Square Enix has released the first information and screenshots surrounding its newly announced Final Fantasy Explorers-Force, which is due out as a free-to-play title with in-app purchases for iOS and Android devices in Japan in 2017.

Get the details below.

■ Prologue

Final Fantasy Explorers-Force

There exists a group of people called Soldiers.

These warriors, who are part of the “International Peace Alliance,” which is known by the nickname FORCE, fight with trained bodies and sharpened minds as exploration specialists.

Many of them were once called Explorers, who devoted themselves to adventuring the world.

Then the world was thrown into a great war. In the battle lasting several decades, the earth and its atmosphere were ruined. To the foolish actions of humanity, calamity was the response. Summons beasts appeared all throughout the world.

In order to stand against this overwhelming threat, humanity established a temporary truce. An organization to oppose the summons beasts is formed, which after its destruction is the predecessor of the organization known as the “International Peace Alliance.”

50 years have passed since the calamity. A young man living in the frontier sets off to become a Soldier of the International Peace Alliance. But the young man has yet to understand that he will soon be caught up in a major event on which the fate of the world hinges.

■ Soldiers FORCE

Final Fantasy Explorers-Force

A number of familiar Final Fantasy jobs will appear in Final Fantasy Explorers-Force. You can change your appearance and equipment, and play maximum five-player multiplayer. You can develop various jobs and enjoy a role-play all your own.


Final Fantasy Explorers-Force

Pictured from left-to-right, top-to-bottom:

  • Knight
  • Thief
  • Monk
  • Black Mage
  • Time Mage
  • Ranger
  • White Mage
  • Dragoon

■ Crystal FORCE

Final Fantasy Explorers-Force

Players carry the “power of the crystal,” allowing them to trance (transform) into legendary Final Fantasy characters.

Final Fantasy Characters

Final Fantasy Explorers-Force

Pictured from left-to-right, top-to-bottom:

  • Cloud from Final Fantasy VII
  • Squall from Final Fantasy VIII
  • Tidus from Final Fantasy X
  • Van from Final Fantasy XII
  • Lightning from Final Fantasy XIII

■ Summon FORCE

Final Fantasy Explorers-Force

The summons beasts appear as enemies that stand before the player. Working together with your allies is the key to defeating these powerful summons beasts.

Summons Beasts

Final Fantasy Explorers-Force

Pictured from left-to-right, top-to-bottom:

  • Ifrit
  • Titan
  • Diablos
  • Bahamut
  • Ramuh
  • Fenrir

View the first screenshots at the gallery. Visit the official website here.

Use the coupon code "GEMATSU" for 5% off.

comment policy

Comment Policy

Comments are welcome and encouraged on Gematsu. However, we ask that you follow a simple set of guidelines:

  • Read the full article before commenting.
  • Stay on topic.
  • No drive-by comments, including trolling, baiting, or shit-posting.
  • Know when not to comment. If you do not care about a topic, you do not need to comment.
  • No offensive comments. This includes abusive, threatening, pornographic, misleading, or libelous content / language, as well as general harassment and individual attacks.
  • No port-begging.
  • No console wars.
  • Use spoiler tags when posting spoiler or NSFW (non-nude-only) content. For example: <spoiler>Woe is Leomon.</spoiler> State the subject of the content outside of the spoiler tags.
  • Be respectful towards other commenters. You do not have to agree with each other, but debate politely. If you find that a commenter is not following this simple etiquette, do not carry on the conversation—simply report it.

Gematsu reserves the right to edit or delete any comments without notice. This comment policy is subject to change at any time.