Taiko no Tatsujin: Drum ‘n’ Fun! coming west on November 2

The Switch Taiko no Tatsujin game.

Taiko no Tatsujin: Drum 'n' Fun!

Taiko no Tatsujin: Drum ‘n’ Fun! is coming to Switch in the Americas and Europe via the Nintendo eShop alongside Taiko no Tatsujin: Drum Session! for PlayStation 4 on November 2, publisher Bandai Namco announced.

Here is an overview of the game, via Bandai Namco:


  • Publisher: Bandai Namco Entertainment
  • Developer: Bandai Namco Studios
  • Players: 1 to 2 (Taiko Mode), 1 to 4 (Party Game or Party Mode)
  • Ratings: E, PEGI 3
  • Localization:
    • Americas: Japanese voice-overs; English, French, Italian, German, and Spanish subtitles
    • Europe: Japanese voice-overs; English, French, Italian, German, and Spanish subtitles


Enjoy the cult classic arcade rhythm game from Japan in the comfort of your own home! Play to the beat using your own drum with wide variety of new songs and challenge your friends to prove who has the best taiko skills. Use motion controls to enjoy Taiko like never before! Unlock beloved characters to help you on your journey to become a legendary taiko drummer! Utilize the interactive features of the Nintendo Switch to connect, share, and play with family and friends.

Key Features

  • Crossover Characters and Unique In-Game Skills – Play using Nintendo crossover characters such as Kirby and Splatoon 2’s Squid, and take advantage of new character support skills to assist in play.
  • Play Using Motion Controls – Play Taiko “arcade style” by using the Joy-Con motion controls, or use the touch screen or standard button controls to play to your liking.
  • Play with Your Friends – Connect multiple Nintendo Switch consoles though Local Wireless Session to play Taiko Mode or multiple Joy-Con to a single Nintendo Switch to play Party Mode with up to 4 players.
  • Enjoy an Iconic Song List – Over 70 songs featuring Dragon Ball Z, Neon Genesis Evangelion, Super Mario Odyssey, and many more!
  • New Party Mode – Connect multiple controllers and up to 4 players can play through 20 rhythm-based challenges, plus expert difficulty

Watch the announcement trailer below. View a set of screenshots at the gallery.

Update 07/30/18 at 4:20 p.m.: Bandai Namco has confirmed to Gematsu that Taiko no Tatsujin: Drum ‘n’ Fun! will be a digital-only release in the west.

Update 08/05/18 at 4:00 p.m.: Gematsu mistook Bandai Namco’s previous confirmation of a digital-only release for the United States as confirmation for a digital-only release in the west, including Europe. We apologize for the error. While Bandai Namco Europe has not said anything on the matter, pre-orders for a physical edition are currently available on Amazon UK.

Use the coupon code "GEMATSU" for 5% off.

comment policy

Comment Policy

Comments are welcome and encouraged on Gematsu. However, we ask that you follow a simple set of guidelines:

  • Read the full article before commenting.
  • Stay on topic.
  • No drive-by comments, including trolling, baiting, or shit-posting.
  • Know when not to comment. If you do not care about a topic, you do not need to comment.
  • No offensive comments. This includes abusive, threatening, pornographic, misleading, or libelous content / language, as well as general harassment and individual attacks.
  • No port-begging.
  • No console wars.
  • Use spoiler tags when posting spoiler or NSFW (non-nude-only) content. For example: <spoiler>Woe is Leomon.</spoiler> State the subject of the content outside of the spoiler tags.
  • Be respectful towards other commenters. You do not have to agree with each other, but debate politely. If you find that a commenter is not following this simple etiquette, do not carry on the conversation—simply report it.

Gematsu reserves the right to edit or delete any comments without notice. This comment policy is subject to change at any time.