Nintendo to announce ‘new interactive experience’ for Switch later today

Mysterious website opened.

Switch

Nintendo has opened a mysterious Japanese website titled “2018.1.18” with the above image and the text “On January 18 (Thursday) at 7:00 a.m. [JST], “New Play” using Nintendo Switch will be introduced on this page.”

January 18 at 7:00 a.m. JST is January 17 at 2:00 p.m. PT / 5:00 p.m. ET / 10:00 p.m. UK, meaning whatever Nintendo plans to introduce will be unveiled later today.

Stay tuned.

Update 7:55 a.m.: The Nintendo UK version of this page has provided more information about what will be unveiled. It reads: “Tune in to discover a new interactive experience for Nintendo Switch that’s specially crafted for kids and those who are kids at heart.”

Use the coupon code "GEMATSU" for 5% off.

comment policy

Comment Policy

Comments are welcome and encouraged on Gematsu. However, we ask that you follow a simple set of guidelines:

  • Read the full article before commenting.
  • Stay on topic.
  • No drive-by comments, including trolling, baiting, or shit-posting.
  • Know when not to comment. If you do not care about a topic, you do not need to comment.
  • No offensive comments. This includes abusive, threatening, pornographic, misleading, or libelous content / language, as well as general harassment and individual attacks.
  • No port-begging.
  • No console wars.
  • Use spoiler tags when posting spoiler or NSFW (non-nude-only) content. For example: <spoiler>Woe is Leomon.</spoiler> State the subject of the content outside of the spoiler tags.
  • Be respectful towards other commenters. You do not have to agree with each other, but debate politely. If you find that a commenter is not following this simple etiquette, do not carry on the conversation—simply report it.

Gematsu reserves the right to edit or delete any comments without notice. This comment policy is subject to change at any time.