Tekken 7 gets new Rage Arts and Power Clash systems, first off-screen footage

Online support also being added to the arcade version.

With Tekken 7 currently undergoing location tests in Japanese arcades, Bandai Namco has released a pamphlet online that details several key new features coming to the fighter.

Tekken 7 Tekken 7

Gameplay-wise, the sequel is getting new systems dubbed “Rage Arts” and “Power Clash.” The Rage Arts system is tied to characters’ health during bouts; when it drops below a certain threshold, they enter an “Enraged State,” which in turn buffs their offensive power, as well as unlocks access to their titular “Rage Art,” a unique special move whose input differs from character to character. While not explicitly described as such, in terms of other recent fighters, this is most akin to the Persona 4 Arena series’ Awakening mechanic, which works in similar ways, particularly with respect to the move unlocking aspect.

As for Power Clashes, they’re another unique type of attack whereby characters don’t flinch upon taking hits while inflicting moves. Although there are no explicit limits in terms of how many times Power Clashes can be used nor how often a player can be hit in that state, in exchange, damage is still accrued, making it a risky proposition. Similar to Rage Arts, execution of Power Clashes differs with each character.

The pamphlet also includes a list of currently confirmed playable characters. Rage Arts are listed as each character’s first move and that Power Clashes are their second listed move. Here’s the list:

  • Claudio
  • Catalina
  • Kazuya Mishima
  • Heihachi Mishima
  • Lars Alexandersson
  • Asuka Kazama
  • Lili
  • Alisa Bosconovitch
  • Paul Phoenix
  • Marshall Law
  • Ling Xiaoyu
  • King
  • Dragunov
  • Bryan
  • Leo Kliesen
  • Feng Wei
  • Steve Fox
  • Hwoarang

Finally, the arcade version is seeing online matchmaking support, whereby arcade players can fight others of similar skill levels over the internet in addition to locally available ones through networked cabinets, as per usual. However, the location test version specifically lacks matchmaking capabilities and players will only be able to play the game online. Additionally, a website has opened up for players participating here. By inputting their Bandai Namco ID and Passport Card, players can register their information, as well as check on their skill levels and customize the looks of their characters.

Watch first footage from the location test below.

(Images and video via @Flying_Wonkey.)

Use the coupon code "GEMATSU" for 5% off.

comment policy

Comment Policy

Comments are welcome and encouraged on Gematsu. However, we ask that you follow a simple set of guidelines:

  • Read the full article before commenting.
  • Stay on topic.
  • No drive-by comments, including trolling, baiting, or shit-posting.
  • Know when not to comment. If you do not care about a topic, you do not need to comment.
  • No offensive comments. This includes abusive, threatening, pornographic, misleading, or libelous content / language, as well as general harassment and individual attacks.
  • No port-begging.
  • No console wars.
  • Use spoiler tags when posting spoiler or NSFW (non-nude-only) content. For example: <spoiler>Woe is Leomon.</spoiler> State the subject of the content outside of the spoiler tags.
  • Be respectful towards other commenters. You do not have to agree with each other, but debate politely. If you find that a commenter is not following this simple etiquette, do not carry on the conversation—simply report it.

Gematsu reserves the right to edit or delete any comments without notice. This comment policy is subject to change at any time.