Four new characters introduced for Omega Quintet

Song and dance editor also to be featured in the game.


This week’s issue of Famitsu comes bearing more preview coverage of Compile Heart’s forthcoming PlayStation 4 RPG Omega Quintet, with four new characters being showcased, as well as a handful of new gameplay and music details.

First up on the list of cast newcomers is the bespectacled Ayumi (voiced by Satomi Arai). Functioning as the previously-revealed protagonist Tact’s boss, she’s worked as Momoka’s manager for many years. Beyond her normal managerial duties, she also arranges songs and outfits for the Songstresses, as well as handles live broadcasts for their concerts. In private, she’s additionally a confidant for Tact, who turns to her at times for advice.

Next is Shiori (voiced by Yumi Hara), the woman seen in the purple dress. A previous generation Songstress who once worked with Momoka, she now serves as Kyouka’s supervisor. Although Shiori normally has a relaxed personality, when the subject turns to Momoka, someone with whom she doesn’t get along well at all, she tends to visibly lose her composure.

The headband-sporting Tomekichi (voiced by Hayato Itou), meanwhile, is a big fan of the Songstresses who also happens to work as their bodyguard. Always the loudest out of anyone in the crowd when doing his work for the girls, he possesses a lot of charisma and knows how to keep their followers in line.

Rounding out the new reveals is the buff Godot (voiced by Gentoku), a man with a strong sense of justice who heads up a vigilante group. While typically known to be out patrolling dangerous areas, when the menacing Beep show up, he goes out of his way to forcibly evacuate civilians from the area.

The weapons that the girls use in Omega Quintet also get a minor mention in Famitsu’s coverage. Called “Microphones” in the game, they act as devices that amplify the latent powers of Songstresses and take on myriad forms, such as Otoha’s hammer, Kyouka’s spear, Aria’s fan, and Kanadeko’s pile bunker.

The magazine also mentions that the game will have a menu where players can edit songs and dances, ostensibly for the purpose of producing music videos.

Finally, a handful of song titles have also been announced, which are listed below:

  • “Move*Menter” [editor’s note: their spelling, not ours], lyrics by Erica Masaki and composition/editing by Yusuke Itagaki
  • “Manmaru Marui,” lyrics/composition/editing by Koshiro Honda
  • “Complex:CRESCENT,” lyrics by Kotomi Fukugawa and composition/editing by Yusuke Yamamoto

Omega Quintet is set to come out in Japan for the PlayStation 4 on September 19.

Thanks, Exeforce87.

Use the coupon code "GEMATSU" for 5% off.

comment policy

Comment Policy

Comments are welcome and encouraged on Gematsu. However, we ask that you follow a simple set of guidelines:

  • Read the full article before commenting.
  • Stay on topic.
  • No drive-by comments, including trolling, baiting, or shit-posting.
  • Know when not to comment. If you do not care about a topic, you do not need to comment.
  • No offensive comments. This includes abusive, threatening, pornographic, misleading, or libelous content / language, as well as general harassment and individual attacks.
  • No port-begging.
  • No console wars.
  • Use spoiler tags when posting spoiler or NSFW (non-nude-only) content. For example: <spoiler>Woe is Leomon.</spoiler> State the subject of the content outside of the spoiler tags.
  • Be respectful towards other commenters. You do not have to agree with each other, but debate politely. If you find that a commenter is not following this simple etiquette, do not carry on the conversation—simply report it.

Gematsu reserves the right to edit or delete any comments without notice. This comment policy is subject to change at any time.